You are here

Leadership Service Award Recipient

The Foundation first presented the Leadership Service Award in 2016. It honors a faculty member who combines service learning with classroom instruction to forge skills and knowledge that students can apply to community leadership opportunities.

Dr. Emad Habib

Professor of Civil Engineering
College of Engineering

Alex & Loretta Durand Theriot, Jr. Board of Regents Chair in Civil Engineering

Dr. Emad Habib is the Theriot Endowed Chair in Civil Engineering. He directs the University’s Louisiana Watershed Flood Center and is interim director of its Institute for Coastal and Water Research. He was Researcher of the Year for the College of Engineering in 2021. His research in flood prediction and mitigation, and water and climate sustainability has been widely recognized. He earned the UL Lafayette Foundation’s Distinguished Professor Award in 2016. Habib is a faculty member well known for his genuine commitment to service and his abilities to integrate service in his teaching and engagement. Together with his students, Dr. Habib has partnered with many community organizations like the Acadiana Planning Commission, One Acadiana, Lafayette Consolidated Government, the Teche-Vermilion Watershed District and many more to provide valuable services through research. His teaching efforts engage students to respond to actual challenges within the community and have garnered attention at the local, state, and national levels.