You are here

Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

The Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award is named for the University’s fifth president. It has recognized faculty commitment to teaching and innovation since 1992.

Dr. Aimee Barber

Assistant Professor of Educational Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education & Human Development

Dr. Aimee Barber, assistant professor of educational curriculum and instruction, holds the Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco/BORSF Professorship in Liberal Arts I in the College of Education and Human Development. Dr. Barber is a passionate educator whose work is focused on strengthening innovation in the next generation of teachers. She is an Association of Teacher Educators 2023 Clinical Fellow and the faculty advisor for the Educators Rising Collegiate Chapter. She also serves on the development team for the Learning Lab — UL Lafayette’s laboratory school initiative.


Nona Leger Istre

Master Instructor of Computer Science and Program Coordinator for the Department of Computer Science
Ray P. Authement College of Science

Nona Leger Istre is a master instructor of computer science and also serves as the program coordinator for the Department of Computer Science in the Ray P. Authement College of Sciences. Istre has been a faculty member with the University since 1999. Over her tenure, she has modernized the computer science program, created new instructional materials and advised hundreds of students. She has been honored as an outstanding advisor for numerous years and has truly made a lasting impact in the School of Computing and Informatics.